tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:/posts jskogerboe's posthaven 2019-01-03T23:00:30Z Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1359958 2019-01-03T23:00:29Z 2019-01-03T23:00:30Z Christmas in Minnesota 2019

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1047877 2016-05-06T20:34:40Z 2016-05-06T21:10:59Z Why This? Why Now? My TOP THREE Reasons for Joining the R+F Team

I've been a "supporting husband" in my wife's Rodan + Fields business adventure for the last year and a half. I've watched her and cheered her on as my Amy has knocked down hurdles and tenaciously built a POWER Team of amazing Consultants and an ever growing base of happy return Preferred Customers.

I never planned this. I never went looking for this. Talk to me 3 years ago and I would have LAUGHED OUT LOUD if you ever suggested that Amy and I would be building a network of relationships within a home-based business model like Rodan + Fields.

But then... we have watched R+F. Amy wisely jumped in head first. I watch her thrive. I see her passion. I see the QUALITY of the products and the UNBELIEVABLE ability to succeed with the tools and support system that R+F gives you right out of the gate, and I have asked myself, "Where is the down-side?" Because I don't see one.

There are 100 good reasons I could give you to answer these questions, "Why this? Why now?" Here's my TOP THREE:

(1) FLEXIBILITY  --  I am made to be a Pastor. I love being a Pastor. I love getting to love people in Jesus' name and tell the world there is a God who loves them and wants them for His own. But I never sought out ministry work because it was a lucrative career choice. That means we have to be creative with our budget, and as we raise five sons (the first of which is headed to college in the Fall), it means looking for God-given opportunities to bring in additional income. R+F gives me ALL the flexibility our family needs to work our schedule the way we need to. I can Pastor our beautiful church here in Montgomery, IL, and find time at home to feed and grow this business in the way that works for our family. I love the FLEXIBILITY.

(2) QUALITY  --  Integrity matters. I have a low tolerance for bologna in relationships and in business connections. Just shoot straight, do what you promise, and deliver quality. That's what I look for. And we have seen time and again that not only is the SUPPORT NETWORK (talk about great Consultant Support, and the WEBSITE for each Consultant is unreal) fantastic, the PRODUCT is literally changing the lives of people. I see all the before and after pictures. And our own family has been literally SHOCKED at how effective these products are. I couldn't BACK it if I didn't BELIEVE in it. I love the QUALITY.

(3) TEAM  --  I'm wired for relationships. Frankly, my theology teaches me that we ALL are (yes, even you introverts - God bless you!) But I personally am exceptionally drawn to function best in RELATIONSHIP with a like-minded, like-hearted TEAM. TOGETHER trumps being a Lone Ranger every time. In THIS case, not only do I get to partner with my fantastic BRIDE (which is going to ROCK), but I also walk into a seriously WONDERFUL TEAM. And I mean that. It's one of the reasons I am excited to be coming on board. Officially, now. It is one of the things I love about this company. I love the TEAM.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/1012508 2016-03-12T20:05:58Z 2016-05-09T14:55:20Z Christians, Yoga, Freedom and Discernment

I Googled "Christian Yoga." Over 53 million links were found. That's a 53 and six zeros. So I'm quite certain that everything that CAN be said about this topic has already been said several times over.

But as a pastor, I field questions about "Christian Yoga" from my own congregation. Women from our church are attending a Women's Retreat in the area which is offering Christian Yoga as an optional activity. So what do I say to them?

Ultimately, I do not think this is a "black and white" issue. So some discernment is needed. Rather than try to hold a nuanced, complete discussion of the topic here, I will use this post as a tool to aggregate my thoughts and give an overview - including a few other resources to consider - for further, prayerful consideration.

(1) The Incompatibility Position  --  Because Yoga is built upon and grows out of eastern mysticism and eastern religious ideologies whose worldviews ARE incompatible with a Bibliocentric, orthodox Christian worldview, many Christians assert that "being a Christian" and "practicing Yoga"are inherently at odds. When it comes to traditional yoga, I tend to agree... although what passes for yoga in the Unites States is hardly "traditional" anymore, and most so-called "Christian" yoga goes out of its way to avoid using phrases and language that roots the physical practice (stretching and deep breathing exercises) in its eastern mystic philosophical framework.

(2) The 1 Corinthians 10:23 Position  --  "All things are lawful, but not all things are helpful/beneficial/uplifting/good for you." This would be the position of many people I look to for Spirit-led wisdom, such as Pastor John Piper. You can read his short article on this topic here. He ends with the summary statement, "As I assess maximizing rather than minimizing my pursuit of God’s goals and the flourishing of my own soul, I would go another way and find another kind of exercise." I totally respect this position and would tend to counsel members of my own congregation to take this approach. In other words, this is the, "It may not be inherently WRONG, but neither is it inherently SAFE, so why dabble with it?" approach. I believe the underlying compatibility of "Christian yoga" with our scriptural worldview rests almost entirely in the hands of the LEADER and the depth of their understanding of theology and the dangerous theological and spiritual assumptions tied into traditional yoga practice. For that reason, I would council our congregation to seriously consider avoiding the practice altogether.

(3) The Freedom and Redemption Position  --  I'm a big BIG fan of freedom and redemption of culture for the glory of God. There are also Christ followers I respect who make the case that the physical and emotional benefits of yoga stretching and breathing exercises can be enjoyed within a God-honoring context. For a good summary of this position, click here. This position on "Christian Yoga" asserts that the Church is in the business of redeeming things the devil has co-opted and utilizing them for God-glorifying purposes. Think of the tradition of the Christmas tree, for example, which may have had its roots (so to speak) in pagan worship practice, but is now filled with Christian symbolism. Think of this position every time I play drums in our church on a Sunday morning. While some may assert that the drum set has been used to produce SO MUCH anti-Christian art, it is also used now in churches and venues around the world to help give voice to millions of worshippers, singing praise to Jesus Christ.

So in a nutshell... 

I tend to agree with position #1 above. Christianity and traditional yoga practices are incompatible, because yoga is built upon and fueled by non-biblical eastern religious worldviews. However, in the case of "Christian Yoga," it seems that SO MUCH responsibility lies with the LEADER to re-interpret and re-contextualize these otherwise eastern mystic ideologies that it seems WISEST to me to adopt position #2  and avoid the practice altogether. Having said that, I respect those who adopt position #3 to choose for themselves what they feel is best. I know some would disagree and consider "Christian Yoga" to be a complete oxymoron, but I tend to believe there is enough freedom in our faith to allow differing opinions on this. I put "Christian Yoga" in the "adiaphora" bin.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/845947 2015-04-24T03:26:40Z 2015-04-24T03:31:35Z "With That Moon Language"


Admit something:

Everyone you see, you say to them,

   "Love me."

Of course you do not do this out loud;

   Otherwise,

Someone would call the cops.

Still though, think about this,

This great pull in us to connect.

Why not become the one

Who lives with a full moon in each eye

That is always saying

With that sweet moon

   Language

What every other eye in this world

   Is dying to

   Hear.


-Hafez



]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/799606 2015-01-17T18:00:00Z 2015-01-21T23:09:20Z AFLBS Worship Team Chicago Trip :: January 17, 2015 ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/778357 2014-12-03T21:16:12Z 2014-12-04T03:09:43Z Oprah's Testimony of Faith - Not a Christian Viewpoint

During a December 2014 online discussion about the supposed "Christian faith" of Oprah Winfrey, the following video clips were shared as evidence that she is, indeed a Christian:

          Clip #1, from April 23, 2012

          Clip #2, uploaded to YouTube October 19, 2011

These videos actually provide direct evidence that her theology is at least confused, if not in direct opposition to the clear identifying marks of Christianity, and specifically, saving faith in Jesus Christ, who said plainly, "I am the way, the truth, and the life. No one comes to the Father except through me." (John 14:6)

  • Oprah defines "spirituality" as "living your life with an open heart through love," which she further defines as embracing the values of "tolerance, acceptance, harmony, and cooperation." Therefore, to be truly spiritual is to be tolerant of all points of view, religious or otherwise. This is a postmodern view of both truth and values, not a Christian worldview, which assets that truth is not subjective, but fixed, and morality is not subjective, but absolute. 
  • Oprah defines "God" as a "force or energy or consciousness..." This is New Age spirituality, not Christianity. Christianity defines God as One God in three persons, the Father, the Son, and the Holy Spirit.
  • Oprah equates the "blessed life" to "living in the space of an open heart" or "living in the space of the spirit." In other words, she clarifies, the CAUSE of her blessed life is the fact that she has always (since she was 4) lived with this awareness, or "with an open heart through love," or "embracing tolerance, acceptance, harmony, cooperation..." In other words, she is blessed (and we can be, too) because of her attitudes and actions. This is a mix of works-righteousness and a "prosperity gospel" mindset error that equates the physical blessings of this earth with the degree to which we embrace love and respect of all people AND acceptance of their philosophy and religious ideology, regardless of Biblical distinctions. In Oprah's spiritual paradigm, tolerance trumps truth. That is not a Christian value.
  • In speaking about our desires and dreams, Oprah communicates a mixed message. On one hand, she asks her audience to "surrender" to a God who dreams greater dreams for us than we dream for ourselves (again, at least flirting with a prosperity gospel mindset), but at the end of the day, this "higher power" or "thing greater than yourself" (which is how she often characterizes God) is found within ourselves, in communion with some mysterious "energy" of the universe. She asks, "What would you, God... the universe... have me do?" Not God OF THE universe, but "God... the universe..."  Oprah says that if we truly want something, "There's no question that if the energy and the vibrational frequency is correct... is in sync with what is going to come your way, there is a space YOU CREATE (emphasis mine) that allows that to happen." At the end of the day, Oprah's concept of God is with ourselves. This is not the Sovereign God of the Bible.
Bottom line, while Oprah claims to be a Christian, I do not believe she is surrendered to Jesus Christ as the only true God, as her only hope of salvation from her sins.  What does it mean to be a Christian?

"But to all who did receive Him, who believed in His name, he gave the right to become children of God." (John 1:12) To have saving faith means resting all of your faith and trust upon ONE NAME: Jesus Christ. That is a truly exclusive message. But that one truth is available to ALL who believe.
]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/772937 2014-11-20T19:44:22Z 2014-11-20T19:44:43Z Who's got 8PM tickets to see Mockingjay tonight? #thisguy

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/761126 2014-10-27T19:45:37Z 2014-10-27T19:45:38Z Jackalopes. They're a real thing.

...as this picture from Google Image Search clearly proves.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/687576 2014-05-07T04:17:21Z 2014-05-07T04:17:21Z I have Fantine song lyrics running through my head because of Bill Gates...

I have Fantine's lyrics running through my head from Les Miserables...


I had a dream my life would be
So different from this hell I'm living
So different now from what it seemed
Now life has killed the dream I dreamed


Why? Because I've spent 2 hours trying to simply number the pages in a word document. Thanks Bill Gates. I can't wait to work on the footnotes. Woo hoo!

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/674875 2014-04-08T21:17:37Z 2015-08-26T09:07:20Z Today my mind has changed because of this confrontation predicted in a cartoon 12 years ago. #baseball #indians

Today my mind has changed. I'm a little embarrassed that it has taken this long. There is no way I can reconcile teams using names like "Indians" or "Redskins" with what I believe about racial reconciliation and the image of God that every human bears.


On the left is an actual confrontation between a Cleveland Indian fan and a Native American protester from the Cleveland Indians home opener last week. On the right is a prophetic cartoon by Lalo Alcaraz from 2002.


This was my tipping point.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/672681 2014-04-04T03:31:41Z 2014-04-04T03:31:42Z Working soundtrack tonight. "It's Your breath in our lungs, so we pour out our praise..."

All Sons and Daughters LIVE. Oh my goodness. I'm loving this right now. New worship language! Makes my heart beat harder.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/663583 2014-03-13T20:06:46Z 2014-12-05T14:44:00Z Modern Art

This is simultaneously brilliant as a teaching strategy, redemption of anti-social behavior, and a critique of modern art. This wins.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/660749 2014-03-05T01:08:51Z 2014-03-05T01:08:51Z Tonight's working soundtrack. Fresh poetry for the Church.

John Mark McMillan. Released today.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/655773 2014-02-18T21:35:03Z 2014-02-18T21:35:03Z How to ensure your wife doesn't leave you home with the kids. Ever again.

My friend Paul posted this shot, labeled "72 hours without Laura..." Nice work, Paul.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/651684 2014-02-07T17:25:23Z 2014-02-07T17:25:24Z Russell Brand on Philip Seymour Hoffman, addiction, and our deepest need

A quote from Russell Brand on the tragic death of Philip Seymour Hoffman (via John Stossel):


"In spite of his life seeming superficially great, in spite of all the praise and accolades, in spite of all the loving friends and family, there is a predominant voice in the mind of an addict that supersedes all reason and that voice wants you dead. This voice is the unrelenting echo of an unfulfillable void."


I submit that all men have this void to fill, and that for the addict, a substance is used to try to fill it. I believe we all try to  fill what can only be satisfied through relationship with our Creator. I'm not suggesting that Jesus is a band-aid that supernaturally quiets every voice in our mind, every craving, every competing urge. But I do believe he can be our strength and our joy. While every other voice whispers lies to us about how that void can be satisfied, He provides us the power of a superior promise.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/635924 2013-12-30T18:04:40Z 2013-12-30T18:04:41Z BAM.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/620990 2013-11-18T23:19:35Z 2013-11-18T23:19:38Z Pittsburgh skyline from the top of the Duquesne Incline. ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/620988 2013-11-18T23:12:20Z 2013-11-18T23:12:22Z Traveling Light



Amy and Z riding up the Duquesne Incline. #pittsburgh #family #vscocam

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/616441 2013-11-06T13:39:13Z 2013-11-06T13:39:15Z Due to the influence of @JonAcuff and my friend @JeffGoins, this reminder hangs in my office. When the to-do list is exceptionally long... ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/606774 2013-10-07T02:25:09Z 2013-10-08T17:31:05Z Boy can play.

John Mayer does a cover of Free Fallin' (Tom Petty) on this album that I think I could listen to all night.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/606070 2013-10-03T19:28:09Z 2013-10-08T17:30:57Z Action Book from Behance. This is how I get life done. ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/605684 2013-10-01T23:51:32Z 2013-10-08T17:30:52Z Where we are right now... (Go Bucs!) Our spot on the patio under the lights for the PIRATES game with Scott and Molly Hunter. #perfect #grilledmeat #Pittsburgh #GoBucs! ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/605279 2013-09-30T03:41:18Z 2013-10-08T17:30:47Z This is my soundtrack as I work tonight. SO GOOD. I'll buy anything Derek Webb puts out.

 

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/600460 2013-09-10T15:59:51Z 2013-10-08T17:29:44Z Ezra prays deep and simple prayers...

"Thank you God for the good food we ate today. Thank you that we're a team of brothers. Thank you that we are the Spoberboe family. Thank you for Mom and Dad. Thank you for dying on the cross to forgive our sins. Amen." #nailedit

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/599399 2013-09-05T23:08:03Z 2013-10-08T17:29:28Z Understanding this has changed me. Profoundly.

The key to winning the battles over sin in your life in the long term is not found in some inner reservoir of strength or new-found resolve. Instead, it is found in the joy and freedom of the Gospel. When you have tasted the goodness of God and freedom from guilt and shame, it puts your mouth out of taste for the fleeting and corrupting pleasure of sin. Turn to God for forgiveness, and believe that Jesus' death was for YOU. Sin promises lasting joy, but only delivers short-term pleasure. Like bait on a hook. God is infinitely more satisfying.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/595416 2013-08-17T00:44:08Z 2013-10-08T17:28:40Z Family movie night with Amy and the boys. T-minus 25 minutes. Can't wait. ‪



#family  #42
]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/595077 2013-08-15T03:50:35Z 2013-10-08T17:28:35Z This guy. That is all. ‪#‎gobucs‬!

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/593255 2013-08-07T17:17:05Z 2013-10-08T17:28:13Z Visited Holy Cross Greek Orthodox church in Mount Lebanon, PA. Part of the Vacation Bible School experience for our 7th and 8th Graders at Ruthfred Lutheran Church in Bethel Park, PA, is a number of visits to various places of worship in the area. Today was a tour of a local Greek Orthodox church. Beautiful iconography and rich symbolism. Afterward, we came back to Ruthfred where Pastor Carlson highlighted the important similarities and differences between the Orthodox church and our Lutheran doctrine.  ]]> Joshua Skogerboe tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/589641 2013-07-19T14:54:39Z 2013-10-08T17:27:28Z First Annual Skogerboe Greater Pittsburgh Triathlon

Athletic ability optional.

Join us in August 2013 for the First Annual Skogerboe Greater Pittsburgh Triathlon. (Date TBA pending available funds to buy kiddie pool and snacks.)

INSPIRATION:  I have good friends training right now for a "short triathlon" later this summer. I thought to myself, "How cool is it to actually be a triathlete? Super cool." What is needed is an even shorter triathlon. For the rest of us.

PERSPIRATION: Optional. The race course will send runners all the way up our winding driveway where they will plunge briefly into a refreshing kiddie pool before descending said driveway on their bicycle. Estimated race time: 1 minute 14 seconds. Official looking T-shirt included with registration fee. Carb-loading spaghetti dinner the night before is on you.

MOTIVATION:  To be a real Triathlete. A real one.

REGISTRATION:  Check back here for updated info concerning race times and race day protocol. Registration is $50. We get your money, YOU get the glory.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe
tag:jskogerboe.posthaven.com,2013:Post/586159 2013-06-28T05:23:34Z 2013-10-08T17:26:48Z Evangelism by romance. It happens.

]]>
Joshua Skogerboe