Lord, help me get this right...

PERSONAL NOTE about THEOLOGY and PREACHING:

I’m in class.  We are studying theology. 

Sometimes in the discussion of the minutia of nuanced theological semantics, I find myself straining to understand the proper wording so that I will satisfy the proper theological authorities and watchdogs. The problem is, when I minister and preach I am God’s ambassador of reconciliation. I must be moved by the need to communicate the heart and words of God to those I am serving, rather than protecting my theological reputation. Striving after right theological terminology can shackle me with unbalanced self-examination, where freedom in the Spirit should loose me. I must must must keep this clear and settled in my heart. Words matter, for sure. But hearts and souls matter more. 

Lord, help me get this right.